Five Faves

IMG_2952

  1. Bee’s Wraps

I have had my eye on these wraps for a while now and when I found them in a shop in Copenhagen a few weeks ago I could not resist buying them. To be fair, I did not buy very much on my trip so I didn’t feel too bad!

They are an environmentally-friendly alternative to cling film. They are made out of organic cloth, beeswax, tree resin and organic jojoba oil. They last for about a year and then are compostable.

Basically, you can use them to wrap your sandwiches up for lunch or put over a bowl of leftovers and stick in the fridge and then instead of throwing them away you can rinse them and use them again.

Eco-friendly beeswax wraps, an alternative to plastic wrap

I have used them a lot and am really impressed, the first time you use them it does make your food have a slight beeswaxy taste to it, but that goes away after a few washes!

CONS: They are expensive (about £16) and are made in Vermont so have to be shipped over. I haven’t researched whether there are any UK or Europe made ones but there could be some out there.

Also, they obviously aren’t vegan. I am not vegan but I’ve recently switched to a fully plant-based diet (I was about 80% for a while) but I am not sure on the whole honey situation. 🐝

2. Glass water bottle

This may seem boring to most people – I mean, it’s just a water bottle, right? Yeah, I suppose so. However, I have a bit of a weird attachment to water bottles that I don’t really need to go into now because I don’t want to ruin my reputation COMPLETELY but oh my god babes, a glass water bottle will change your life.

Ok, it may not change your life, BUT it will make drinking water much nicer, it just tastes fresher when it is out of glass – plus think of all the plastic water bottles that are ruining the oceans and our planet. There are loads of glass and metal water bottles out there, and I would highly recommend investing.

I was very fortunate because my mum bought me this one as I told her to watch the documentary ‘Plastic Ocean’ (please watch if you haven’t – it’s really good) and she found it extremely interesting and shocking. Shout out to my mum! (Also shoutout to my friend Louise who just watched it today♥️)

3. Lily Lolo mascara

I gave in to the hype and I could not resist making a cheeky order on naturismo.com (an amazing online natural and cruelty free beauty product shop). I have seen many cruelty-free beauty bloggers and vloggers rave about this mascara and I have to say – it lives up to the high standards.

I am switching my used beauty products with ones that were not tested on animals and also trying to steer clear of harsh chemicals and ingredients.

FullSizeRender

I don’t know what else to say other than this Lily Lolo mascara is everything you need in a mascara – it lifts, lengthens, stays put, doesn’t smudge and it also hasn’t been tested on a cute lil bunny, so that’s nice.

4. Cruelty Free Becky

Screen Shot 2017-10-19 at 18.55.11

This next favourite is a cruelty-free beauty blogger and vlogger and all-round babe. I think Sarah is a little sick of my banging on about how ‘crueltyfreebecky’ has this and ‘crueltyfreebecky recommends that’… but I just really enjoy her content!

She seems like such a nice, chilled out gal who is spreading such a good message. Plus her aesthetic is on point!

I would definitely recommend checking her out for some tips and tricks on becoming a more ethical consumer. She doesn’t just do beauty, she also does second-hand fashion videos and travel vlogs.

5. Ready Player One

This isn’t anything to do with the environment or sustainability – it’s just a bloody good book.

It’s completely out of my usual genre. Some of my favourite books are things like The Help, The Secret Life of Bees, The Kite Runner, The Girls, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time etc. etc.

However, this is a dystopian novel based on 80’s pop culture and videogames. Not an area I am too familiar with, I must say.

IMG_2923

It is set in the future, when the planet is destroyed (so it is kind of environment related) and all that humans have left is a virtual reality world which they live in.

I’m not going to go too much into the book, because you can look it up if you are interested, but this favourite is more to do with reading something out of your comfort zone.

I am trying to make the time to read more and I have successfully done that and I am enjoying it A LOT. I recently finished The Handmaid’s Tale which was also very good.

I think the reason I enjoyed this book was because it was complete escapism. I’ve been having quite a stressful time recently and so being able to open this book and be transported into a completely different world has been so therapeutic.

Also, I just found out that they are making a film of it next year which I am very excited for! I think it translate so well on the big screen.


Ok, so that’s it! I hope my water bottle chat did not put you off this post and if you have made it this far I am highly grateful.

If you have any questions about any of these things please leave a comment or tweet us and I will be more than happy to have a chat about them.

– Alice

1 Comment

Leave a comment